MINUTES CITY OF LAKE WORTH BEACH CHARTER REVIEW COMMITTEE VIA TELECONFERENCE WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 10, 2021 - 5:00 PM

<u>ROLL CALL:</u> Present were Ramsay Stevens, Chair; Sam Goodstein, Vice Chair and Committee Members Wes Blackman, Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos, Daniel Morgan, Phillip Ross Munro, Dave Wilson and Zade Shamsi-Basha. Also present was City Clerk Melissa Ann Coyne. Debra Robert was absent.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

- A. October 12, 2021
- <u>Action:</u> Motion made by Vice Chair Goodstein and seconded by Jerri LeAnn Clairday to approve the minutes as written.
- <u>Vote:</u> AYES: Ramsay Stevens, Chair; Sam Goodstein, Vice Chair and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos, Daniel Morgan and Dave Wilson. NAYS: None. ABSENT: Wes Blackman, Phillip Ross Munro, Debra Robert and Zade Shamsi-Basha.

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Discussion of bringing the Charter Review Committee to a close
- B. Remaining issues to be considered

residency for City staff, longer than 6 month residency for candidates to qualify, Charter Review Committee to meet every 10 years, residency for advisory board members, term limits of advisory bd members, universal suffrage in preamble.

- Action: Motion made by Vice Chair Goodstein and seconded by Jerri LeeAnn Clairday that the Charter Review Committee shall automatically meet at least once every 10 years.
- <u>Vote:</u> AYES: Chair Ramsay Stevens, Vice Chair Sam Goodstein, and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos, Daniel Morgan, Phillip Ross Munro and Dave Wilson. NAYS: None. ABSENT: Wes Blackman, Debra Robert and Zade Shamsi-Basha.
- <u>Action:</u> Motion made by Vice Chair Goodstein and seconded by Jerri LeeAnn Clairday to recommend that the City Manager residency requirement be added to the Charter and that the Commission consider a residency requirement for other Department Heads to be added to the Charter.

- <u>Vote:</u> AYES: Chair Ramsay Stevens, Vice Chair Sam Goodstein, and Committee Members Joyce Brown, Jerri LeAnn Clairday, Anthony Gallegos, Daniel Morgan, Phillip Ross Munro, Dave Wilson and Zade Shamsi-Basha. NAYS: None. ABSENT: Wes Blackman and Debra Robert.
- C. Next meeting dates
- <u>Action:</u> Consensus was for the next meeting to be held on Monday, April 18, 2022 at 5:00 PM.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: (3 minutes maximum per participant)

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 PM.